Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Using the Library to Learn & Teach Remotely

A Quick Guide

Tips for Students

DATABASES

To find relevant journal articles and other types of sources (digitised primary sources, statistics, newspapers, book chapters, conference proceedings and much more) on a topic, use the bibliographical databases. These are subject specific or specialist databases. If you know which database you are interested in you will be able to search by title. Otherwise, you can apply the Subject filter to identify which are the most helpful for your subject. Another option would be to search the General/Multidisciplinary subject area in order to gather general information. You can always contact your librarian to help you identify which are the most appropriate databases for your topic.

E-JOURNALS

Use eJournal collections to locate journals and journal articles from particular publishers. Some publishers’ collections contain journals in all subject areas, while others are subject specific.

E-BOOKS

Look at eBook collections to access the list of eBooks the Library has access to. Some are generic and some focused on specific subject areas.

GENERAL INFORMATION

For Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias you can the Oxford Scholarship Online. This platform can help you gather general information for your topic before start your research.

RESEARCH METHODS

For tips on how to study effectively and research methodologies, use Sage Research Methods Video platform, which includes hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. SRM Video can help you learn research skills by watching and listening.

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Once you have completed your research, you can use our web-based bibliographic management tool (citation manager) RefWorks to create a database of citations or references to resources (books, journal articles, web sites, etc.). It facilitates the insertion of citations within a research paper as in-text references, footnotes, or endnotes, and the creation of a formatted bibliography using a citation style of choice. All major citation styles are supported (e.g., APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.).